EU & Councillor Elections

On 22 May, the European Parliamentary Elections and elections for all local authorities in England are taking place.

European Parliamentary Elections




Held every four years, the European Parliamentary Elections cover all 28 member states of the European Union. 766 members of the European Parliament will be elected, 73 of which are from the United Kingdom.

If you are a citizen of any member state of the European Union, you are eligible to vote in the UK. The majority of Imperial College London students live in the London constituency, which elects eight members of the European Parliament using the d'Hondt party-list method of election.

Local Authority Elections




London is divided into 32 'boroughs' - such as Westminster, Kensington & Chelsea, Hammersmith & Fulham, or Tower Hamlets. 

Each borough contains several 'wards' - small geographical areas of between 6,000 - 20,000 residents. Each ward elects three 'local councillors', who work (often part-time alongside employment) as representatives of their residents and as governors of their local boroughs.

Boroughs are responsible for local services, many of which are relevant to students:

  • Accommodation standards
  • Public safety
  • Cleanliness & improvement works
  • Social care

If you are a citizen of the UK, any member state of the European Union, or any Commonwealth nation, you are eligible to vote for your local councillor. Approximately three in four Imperial students are eligible to vote, including residents of Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, or Pakistan, among other countries.

You can find your local councillors here.

Beit Quadrangle
Prince Consort Road
London SW7 2BB
Registered Charity No: 1151241
Tel: 020 7594 8060
Fax: 020 7594 8065
Twitter: @icunion
VAT Reg No. GB 240 5617 84