Union Awards 2016

A note by the President

Union Awards Committee

In total, 296 nominations were received for Union Awards of which 81 were deemed by the Colours Committee to have met the criteria laid down in the Union Awards Policy in order for the nominees to receive a Union award. As an aside, 186 nominations were received for Campaign of the year, Contribution to College Life, Innovation & enterprise, Event of the Year, Community Connections Volunteer of the Year, Project of the Year, Academic Rep Network PG Team of the Year, Academic Rep UG Rep Team of the Year and Academic rep of the year. These awards will be announced on Monday 13 June.

The Union Awards Committee considered all applications in 1 session which took place on Monday 6 June from 16.30 until 23.40. Those present during the meetings were

- Ben Howitt
- Chris Kaye
- Cyin San
- Eric Suen
- Henry Harrod
- James Badman
- Jennie Watson
- Lucinda Sandon-Allum Chair
- Maredudd Harris
- Michael Edwards
- Owen Heaney
- Richard Cameron

Some Committee members are also recipients of Union Awards but to clarify the process, these members were asked to leave the room whilst their nominations were being considered and also abstained from voting when they felt a conflict of interest against a nominee. In some occasions, members removed themselves from the room at when there was discussion of a nominee where they felt too connected to the individual nominated to make an unbiased decision

The Awards Policy allows Council to bestow an award an individual...' The policy in no way rules out the recognition by the Union of an individual or group's contribution to the Union over some period of time in a manner not prescribed in this policy.' A large number of nominations were received for William Glendinning who is a conductor for Chamber Choir. William is not a student and the committee decided to strongly recommend to Council to bestow Honorary Life Membership to William for the exceptional service and dedication he has given to Chamber Choir over a number of years.

Decision Required

- 1. To approve the nominations made by the Union Awards Committee.
- 2. To bestow Honorary Life Membership to William Glendinning for his exceptional service to the Chamber Choir.

Coloure

<u>Colours</u>
Alia Asif
Alwyn Elliott
Amanda Williamson
Anuradha Bhide
Athanasius
Andriopoulos
Athif Ilyas
Bryan Liu
Cale Tilford
Cem Hurrell
Chaeyoung Chang
Charlotte Chow
Chia Yi Hou
Christopher Love
Christopher Wood
Claudia Caravello
Dimitrios Karponis
Ehsaan Shivarani
Eleanor Johnstone
Eleanor Rose
George Ainscough
Goronwy Tawy
Isabelle Barrett
Isra Hausien
Jack Steadman
Jagvir Grewal
Jai-Hin Patel
James Long
Jia Wei Teh
Joanna Beresford
Katherine Addy
Kian Lee
Kritchai Vutipongsatorn
Liam Smith

L	loy	<u>rd Jame</u>	es
		_	

Luke Granger-Brown

Mala Mawkin

Matthew Douthwaite

Matyas Molnar

Michael Edwards

Natalie Ansuh-

Amponsah

Nicola Raeside

Nicolas Prettejohn

Nina Cooper

Owen Leech

Peter Bridgman

Raghav Sehgal

Rebecca Neil

Rebecca Smith

Rebekah Judge

Richard Pollock

Rishi Iyer

Robert O'Keeffe

Saloni Dattani

Saniya Mediratta

Shankho Chaudhuri

Shivam Patel

Shorok Mombrikotb

Sihao Lu

Sophie Bolton

Stephanie Joppa

Theresa Davey

Umar Masagos

Uwais Ashraf

Vibhav Sajjan

Yulia Bulgakova

Outstanding Service Award

Alex Compton
Alexander Moore
Andrew Olson Gallardo
Cian Leow
Enric Juan Alcocer
Esme Stallard
Henry Harrod
Jawaad Farooq
Jon Pring
Madeleine Freeman

Matthew Baker
Milia Hasbani
Rhys Smith
Rustam Karanjia
Toni Semmence
Usama Asif

Fellowship

|--|

Council 7 June 2016