# Imperial College Union

# RETURNING OFFICER'S REPORT AND ULU DELEGATES APPOINTMENT

A note by John Collins, Returning Officer

#### Report

This was a quiet election, even by the usual standards of ICU Council elections. However, in spite of the relatively quiet nature of the campaigns, turnout somehow magically rose by over 100 votes to 960, which is a figure of approximately 7.2%. It has been suggested that this turnout increased due to the high level of competition in the Medical faculty undergraduate constituency, which hit over 12% and won the medic's the undergraduate prize. Elsewhere, the highest turnout for postgraduate constituencies was recorded in the Engineering faculty, where 6.1% of all Engineering Postgraduate students voted.

A post mortem meeting to discuss the successes and failures in this election and review the performance of the new constituency electoral system was held on Monday 6<sup>th</sup> November. Suggestions from this meeting will be fed into the second phase of the governance review and noted for the next election.

# **Results**

#### **ICU Council**

Engineering (Undergraduates) Steven King

Nicholas Simpson Edo Abraham Yanyan Huang

Engineering (Postgraduates)

Ashley Brown

Natural Science (Undergraduates)

Derek Wan

Zhibing Hu

Natural Science (Postgraduates) Alexander Guite

Medics (Undergraduates) Zain Sikafi

Jitin Verma

Anojan Arulananthan

Medics (Postgraduates) David Bonsall

Non Faculty Andrew Sykes

Equal Opportunities Officer Thomas Brodrick

ICU Council Agenda item 4

Monday 13<sup>th</sup> November 2006

ULU Delegates Lin Mei

Furquan Kidwai New Election

#### **Graduate Students' Association**

Secretary Christina Swasey

Treasurer Furquan Kidwai

Communications Officer Pei Xian Yan

Activities Co-ordinator Tushar Singhania

**City and Guilds College Union** 

AAO Research Eirini Spentza

**Royal College of Science Union** 

Welfare Officer Jennifer Morgan

Publicity & Web Officer Neil Monteiro

# **Vacancies**

The following positions remain vacant and I propose that we elect these positions at tonight's meeting:

Undergraduate Natural Sciences Councillor
 Postgraduate Engineering Councillor
 Welfare Campaigns Officer
 (2 positions)
 (1 position)

### **ULU Delegation**

It is the responsibility of the Council to appoint five delegates to ULU Council and invariably the President and Deputy President (Education & Welfare) are appointed as two of the five delegates. The remaining three positions were open to election this time and two of the three candidates who stood were successful. I propose that we nominate Eric Lai to be the third delegate to ULU Council for this academic year.

# APPROVAL REQUIRED:

- 1. To nominate John Collins, Ben Harris, Eric Lai, Lin Mei and Furquan Kidwai as delegates to ULU Council.
- 2. To run elections for the four remaining Council positions at tonight's meeting.

#### JC 11/11/06